Free Paid Surveys Online
Start Survey

Toluna Surveys

Toluna is effectively an online market research organization that has created an online community dedicated to giving people the chance to have their voices heard. They offer members of their website the chance to express themselves through the use of Toluna’s polls, reviews and surveys. At the same time, you are able to find out exactly what other people think if they choose to include their polls in their personal Toluna blog.

They are currently inviting people to become a part of this process, and if you are interested in doing so you can register directly through the Toluna website. As part of the registration procedure, you will be asked to provide some basic information on your personal situation and background, which is necessary in order for you to win the prizes and earn the rewards that are on offer.

As a member, you will be eligible to take part in various surveys and product tests, and a fun aspect to the site allows you to create your own polls and opinion topics. Furthermore, every time you participate in any of the Toluna surveys and studies, you will accumulate points and could win up to $5,000 or £2,000 in their monthly draw. The points you earn can also be converted into cash rewards.

Click Here to Join Now!

General Information

  • Accepts Members From: United States, United Kingdom, Canada, Australia, Germany, Singapore, Russia, India, New Zealand and International

     
  • Age Requirements: Not Specified

     
  • Type of Rewards: Points redeemable for rewards, cash, sweepstakes. (Varies depending on your country of residence).

     
  • Sweepstakes, Prize Draws or Competitions: Monthly sweepstakes – prizes of up to $5,000 or £2,000 cash.

     
  • What is The Minimum Payment. This is the Amount Needed to Request a Redemption or Payout: $20.00 or 60, 000 points (May vary depending on your country of residence).
     

Company Information

  • Physical Location of this Survey Company’s Office:

    14 Place Marie-Jeanne Bassot
    92300 Levallois-Perret


  • Type of Market Research They Conduct: Online Surveys and Polls.

Click Here to Join Now!

Member Ratings & Reviews

WIN

Write a review based on your experiences with this paid surveys panel to be entered into our monthly draw for $50 Cash, 2 runners up will also receive $20 Cash each (Payments are made via PayPal). Read the full Terms & Conditions for this contest. See our previous Winners.

Comments

Overall Rating:
Survey Frequency:
Survey Incentives:
Panel Legitimacy:
Recommended:
Comments By: Mick From: United Kingdom
Comment: If you are interested in making a bit of money from surveys, dont waste your time with Toluna.
They send hundreds of surveys although I fail to qualify for most of them. Payment per survey is pathetic, but they try to disguise this fact by rewarding you with thousands of points to make it appear to be well rewarded.
Earned points take months to reach your account.
If you try and collect a worthwhile amount of credit, which can take a very long time, Toluna reward you by deducting reward points because they have expired.
In one year with Toluna I earned £15. In the same period with Valued Opinions for instance, I earned £120.
They are obtaining and selling a mine of useful information from their members, but insulting them with derisory rewards.
Date: Jun 03, 2013

Overall Rating:
Survey Frequency:
Survey Incentives:
Panel Legitimacy:
Recommended:
Comments By: Allan From: United Kingdom
Comment: TOLUNA – www.toluna.co.uk - UPDATE 2

Hi,

In January 2011, I presented my first review here on Yellow Surveys for Toluna and in October 2011, I presented an Update review. For those members of Yellow Surveys who are not familiar with these reviews I suggest you stop reading this update and return here after reading my first two reviews. Only then will you fully appreciate the comments I am making in this, my second Update review of Toluna.
This update review refers to the United Kingdom site of Toluna, rewards and features may differ for other countries.

On 15 June 2012 I received a very interesting email from Toluna headed “Toluna is pleased to announce the launch of the Beta version of the newly redesigned Toluna.com!” The email also informed me that I had “been chosen to join our growing pack of beta testers! This means you’ve earned the chance to be among the first ones to experience it and give us your feedback….”.

Exactly what I had done to have “earned the chance”, I’m not sure. I certainly haven’t been completing any surveys.
We must bear in mind that since I became a member of Toluna in December 2008, the website has undergone TWO major revamps and a partial redesign.

I paid a brief visit to the new beta website and was curiously impressed.
It’s modern-looking and clean, crisp design is a vast improvement over the previously anaemic looking site.
Whilst admiring the beneficial facelift, I decided to probe further into the site to see if any facilities had changed.
Basically, nothing much has changed.
There are still the “Sponsored Polls”, where members can answer a series of mini-polls in the form of multiple-choice questions on various topics and earn 15 points for each. These “Sponsored Polls” should not be underestimated. They are a way of earning guaranteed points which are credited to my account immediately, and by ploughing through these mini-polls, I can top-up my points account – immediately and guaranteed.
Toluna still offers the excellent community facility which is very well supported by its members and must be the most popular feature of Toluna.
Because their invitation surveys are definitely not.
I am still receiving email survey invitations from Toluna, they arrive in my Inbox almost every day – there is certainly no shortage.
I also receive many reminders to take surveys, indicating that I (and presumably other Toluna members) are not bothering to complete the surveys.
In sympathy with the newly designed website, the email design has similarly been improved, and each invite provides complete information about the survey, the subject, the unique reference number, the estimated time to complete and the reward.
It is the last of these that leaves Toluna so desperately pathetic.
In my previous update, I reported that the rewards offered by Toluna for completing surveys had, over time, been dramatically reducing.
I regret to advise Yellow Survey members that this trend has continued.
I recently had an invitation which offered a reward of only 1,600 points (GBP0.30) for a survey estimated at 25 minutes.
I consider this to be an insult to Toluna members.
Out of curiosity, I wanted to complete a couple of short surveys to see if, like the web site, the format of the surveys had also changed.
Firstly, I was rejected from several surveys; it seems that Toluna surveys are becoming more difficult to qualify for. I have noted similar comments in previous reviews from other Yellow Survey members.
Secondly, I experienced TWO “bait surveys” (see my previous reviews for an explanation).

When I did manage to properly start a survey, I was amazed and disgusted to discover on the very first screen of the survey, that Toluna had included a “Captcha” box. I find these things annoying at the best of times especially when the characters I am supposed to read and copy are almost unreadable. I considered this to be yet another hoop to jump through to earn the pittance I had been offered. After successfully negotiating the “Captcha”, I managed to continue with the survey, only to be presented with a second “Captcha” box at the end of the survey.

When I did manage to properly start a survey, I was amazed and disgusted to discover on the very first screen of the survey, that Toluna had included a “Captcha” box. I find these things annoying at the best of times especially when the characters I am supposed to read and copy are almost unreadable. I considered this to be yet another hoop to jump through to earn the pittance I had been offered. After successfully negotiating the “Captcha”, I managed to continue with the survey, only to be presented with a second “Captcha” box at the end of the survey.
A double insult – and yet another hoop.
“Captcha” boxes are intended to prevent automatic completion of information on web pages by programs specifically written to do so, and so prevent, for example, multiple entries to competitions. Anyone who submits a review here to Yellow Surveys will need to complete a “Captcha” box (Security Image).For such a program to be successful, the sequence of web pages that are being automatically completed by the program, have to be identical each time. In the case of Yellow Surveys, the “Captcha” Box is justified, since all the review submission screens are identical. However, obviously no two surveys are the same, and the survey site ensures that a particular survey can be completed only once by a member. This renders the “Captcha” boxes totally redundant and just another thorn in the side for survey takers.

Rewards offered by Toluna continue to drop whilst maintaining its downward spiral; because of this I am downgrading my “Survey Incentives” rating from 2 stars to 1 star, “Panel Legitimacy” from 4 stars to 2 stars and “Overall Rating” from 4 stars to 1 star.

Time will tell whether Toluna will continue with its downward spiral, and also if or when Toluna will eventually hit the ground. There are better things that Toluna could do to improve its member experience such as improving incentives rather than yet another website revamp.

In the meantime there are plenty of other survey sites out there offering much fairer rewards.

I hope this update review has helped you to decide whether or not to join Toluna.

Thanks…

Allan
Date: Aug 31, 2012

Overall Rating:
Survey Frequency:
Survey Incentives:
Panel Legitimacy:
Recommended:
Comments By: Ashlee From: US
Comment: The best thing I can say about Toluna is that you do receive quite a lot of survey invites...the only problem with this is whether you actually qualify for them or not! Out of all the invites I have received I barely qualified for half of them which was rather disappointing, though majority of the ones that I did qualify for did pay well so I guess I shouldn’t be knocking a gift horse in the mouth...so to speak. It definitely has been an extremely easy way for me to make some extra cash. As a stay-at-home mother of two it’s also very convenient too, as I can do the surveys at a time where it fits in for me and my family. Another convenient option was for me to download their iPhone App, which is fantastic when you are out and about and have a few moments of time to kill – every survey completed is extra money earned! Although it does take some time to earn the minimum balance for cashout, I feel as though I am being fairly rewarded for the amount of time I have spent taking part in their surveys and polls. I would recommend Toluna to friends and family for its ease-of-use and the many options it provides to maximize your earnings potential.
Date: Apr 18, 2012

Overall Rating:
Survey Frequency:
Survey Incentives:
Panel Legitimacy:
Recommended:
Comments By: Debbie From: US
Comment: Toluna have been great in giving me plenty of survey invites, the only problem is that I barely qualify for half of them, and the ones I do complete offer very little in terms of reward. When I first joined, about 18 months ago, I was getting heaps of invites to well paying surveys but it seems that over time those well paying surveys dropped totally off my radar! So I then tried my hand at participating in community activities to earn more points, only to realise that the points were just as meagre as their survey offers, not to mention some of the backlash I got just from sharing my honest opinions.

While I was initially impressed with Toluna, it seems that of late they are on a bit of a downhill slope with me. This is not to say that others have had or will have the same experience as me, this is just MY opinion of MY interaction with this particular survey company. Needles to say the most impressive thing of late has been the introduction of their iPhone App that gives you the chance to do more on the go (perfect for the commute to and from work), although this can only be a small plus if Toluna does not address their rewards system and payout procedures.
Date: Mar 22, 2012

Overall Rating:
Survey Frequency:
Survey Incentives:
Panel Legitimacy:
Recommended:
Comments By: John From: US
Comment: Fairly low payout per survey, and I only qualify for a bit better than 1 in 10 (39 completed out of 367 attempted to date), but it does add up eventually.

Took me a bit less than 2 months to get to the first $20 payout level, between hammering every survey I could get AND doing all the little "sponsored" and "quick" surveys - and ballpark HALF the completed surveys I've done came via doing the "quick" surveys, so DON'T IGNORE THOSE.

They also offer CHECK payout.

They have occasional issues with questions that have no valid answer and rare technical glitches, but not nearly as bad about that as a lot of other survey sites on a percentage of issue survey basis - and a LOT of the issues are from "partner sites" that they have no direct control over. Customer service has been a mixed bag - sometimes they listen, sometimes they don't - but overall BETTER than the so-called customer service from almost EVERY OTHER survey site I've tried to date.
Date: Mar 10, 2012

Overall Rating:
Survey Frequency:
Survey Incentives:
Panel Legitimacy:
Recommended:
Comments By: Kim From: Canada
Comment: I've been with Toluna for a few months and enjoy the community they have on their website. Not only do they send surveys to your email but you can log into the site and answer quick surveys for smaller amount of points (15 to 45 points). You can also create your own polls and questions as well as answer other member's polls.

The redemption rate for paypal is fairly high at 60,000 points for $20 but if you keep up with the survey invitations you can reach it in a reasonable amount of time. Each survey can be anywhere from 1400 to 30,000 points.
Surveys are user friendly.

They offer cash (paypal) and gift vouchers. I received my paypal payment within 4 days.

I haven't had to use their customer support so I can't comment on that. Overall I would recommend this site.
Date: Feb 27, 2012

Overall Rating:
Survey Frequency:
Survey Incentives:
Panel Legitimacy:
Recommended:
Comments By: Larry Draper From: US
Comment: I have been a critic of Toluna for more than a year and have had *poor* results from the surveys, polls, or complaints about *all* of their technical problems, including simply *inexcusable* questions/answers which are *frequent* repeats despite my choices. They operate a "Ponzi" scheme under the guise of a *true* "survey site", substituting user/Panelist satisfaction and interactions for *true* survey results. The lists of problems go on and on, with *my* list of Support Cases numbering more than *300* and only lip-service to the various issues and problems. They simply *ignore* my ***REJECTIONS*** of their totally incomplete and shallow responses. I have many more negative examples of their dealings and encourage *all* who are interested in *true* survey results to search elsewhere.
Date: Feb 12, 2012

Overall Rating:
Survey Frequency:
Survey Incentives:
Panel Legitimacy:
Recommended:
Comments By: Brice From: US
Comment: Toluna has a ton of surveys - though I only seem to qualify for about 1 in 10 - and lots of little "quick surveys" that often lead to a real survey. They don't pay a lot as a general rule for their surveys though - commonly 1000-2000 "points" with the points at 60k per $20, so their common survey payout is around a half dollar.

I seem to get into real surveys a LOT more through the quick survey links.

Not a LOT of money, but it's starting to add up.

Fair warning - a LOT of their pages load very slow due to enormous graphics overhead, and some of their "partner sites" have serious issues with broken surveys. Not recommended unless you have at least a 1MB download speed connection and 10+ MB is a LOT better.

Up side - their customer service actually LISTENS at least part of the time.
Date: Feb 10, 2012

Overall Rating:
Survey Frequency:
Survey Incentives:
Panel Legitimacy:
Recommended:
Comments By: Carol-Ann From: United Kingdom
Comment: I wouldn't recommend this site to anyone. They treat members appallingly and seem to do absolutely anything to avoid paying out. PLEASE stay away from them, you'll have nothing but trouble.
Date: Jan 15, 2012

Overall Rating:
Survey Frequency:
Survey Incentives:
Panel Legitimacy:
Recommended:
Comments By: Lynda H From: US
Comment: I have been with toluna since Oct of 2011, so 2 months and have already cashed out 3x for a total of 60$. i dont always qualitfy for surveys, but i get at lease 3 or 4 in my email daily. They also have many other ways of getting points, such as opinon topics and polls. There is really so many ways to get points i sugjest you check it out and read the toluna tutorial. Would absolutely recomend this site.
Date: Jan 01, 2012

Overall Rating:
Survey Frequency:
Survey Incentives:
Panel Legitimacy:
Recommended:
Comments By: Timothy Stuehmeyer From: US
Comment: Customer service is lousy. I do not recommend this site based on months of feedback problems that never got issues resolved. They are still open after 5 months of non participating staff!

I dropped their service through frustration and moved on. Again I do not recommend this company. Blessings
Date: Dec 30, 2011

Overall Rating:
Survey Frequency:
Survey Incentives:
Panel Legitimacy:
Recommended:
Comments By: Allan From: United Kingdom
Comment: TOLUNA – www.toluna.co.uk - UPDATE

Hi,

In January 2011, I presented a review here on Yellow Surveys for Toluna.
There have been some subtle changes to the functionality of the Toluna website. The changes made are actually in areas I criticised in my review and I will describe briefly below. These changes may apply only to the United Kingdom site of Toluna.
I will also comment again on changes I have noticed to the rewards offered for surveys.

First the good news. The Sponsored Polls feature has been split into two categories:-

1) "Sponsored Polls" are available on the Toluna website under the "Explore/Polls" sub-menu.
In my original review I mentioned that each "Sponsored Poll" is a mini survey comprising just a few questions and can be worth between 15 and about 150 points, occasionally with the option to continue on to a full, normal survey.
This is no longer true.
Sponsored Polls are now strictly a single, multiple choice/multiple answer poll worth 15 points only and with NO option to continue on to a full survey.

2) “QuickSurveys” is a NEW selection on the “Explore/Polls” sub-menu and these replace the longer, more valuable multiple question Sponsored Polls. These seem to be much fewer in number than before the change, and unfortunately, points wise, less valuable.
Before the change I have seen between 15 and 150 points awarded for these, now the range I have seen is between 15 and 60 points. Quite a drop.
One annoying aspect of these QuickSurveys is that they take place within a scrolling window within the web-page. Trivial point, but nevertheless it does make the survey a little more awkward to complete.

Before the redesign, occasionally, after I had answered some qualifying questions, I would be automatically redirected to take a follow-on full survey, perhaps even on a partner web site – even if I had no desire to complete a full survey. From experience, this was often a waste of time and rather annoying since these surveys had a high level of screen-outs or the survey had reached its quota or simply expired. I was then left to make my way back to the website to continue with the "Sponsored Polls".
Now, after the redesign, and after answering the qualifying questions, some QuickSurveys will now present me with a pop-up window which is an invitation to continue on to a follow-on full survey.
The pop-up window contains a countdown timer. If I do nothing, the timer runs out and I am automatically taken to the full survey. Alternatively, the pop-up window is now provided with a “Close” tab, which, when clicked, closes the pop-up and I am allowed to continue with my QuickSurveys.

Much neater and less troublesome than the old system.

These Sponsored Polls and QuickSurveys are being added constantly, so it’s a good idea to keep checking back. The points awarded are guaranteed and added to my account total immediately and can give my points a big boost.
From my experience of the follow-on surveys I have managed to take, the points are added to my account much faster than for normal surveys, usually in 2-3 days.

More good news.

The Toluna Community often carried negative comments and complaints about the length of time taken to receive Love2Shop shopping vouchers rewards through the post after redeeming reward points on the website. This has always been a problem and, from experience the waiting time is usually about THREE MONTHS to receive reward vouchers in the post.
From 7 July 2011, vouchers are posted from the Love2Shop UK head office in Birkenhead, rather than from Toluna headquarters in France. I cannot comment on how effective this change has been since I have not requested any Love2Shop vouchers since 7 July.

Now to the subject of the surveys and reward points – the bad news.

There seems to be little change in the numbers of surveys I receive, they are still quite plentiful.

In my previous Toluna review on Yellow Surveys I mentioned that:-

1) In November 2009 the value of Toluna Reward Points was effectively devalued.
For example, to obtain a Love2Shop voucher, the redemption threshold was increased from 60,000 to 80,000 points (an increase of 33%) whereas the redemption value was increased from GBP12 to only GBP15 (an increase of only 25%).

2) Since November 2009, I also noticed that the actual value of surveys (points per minute) also seemed to have been reduced, this stabilised during 2010 but now, once again, in January 2011, I noticed a marked reduction in the average value of surveys.

These were two obvious and unwelcome changes to Toluna Surveys.

Now, it seems that over recent months, the rewards for Toluna surveys have reduced yet again.
I am finding that I am declining more and more Toluna surveys now than previously, simply because in the time I have available for taking surveys, I am finding other survey sites are more lucrative.
So my choice, of course, is to choose the higher earning surveys.
A typical average Toluna survey of 25 minutes would earn only 2400 points worth a mere GBP0.45 – that’s a lot of time for little reward.

Also, I have noticed that I am receiving more reminders to take surveys I have already received an invitation to – but decided not complete. This indicates to me that I am not alone in being dissatisfied with the rewards that Toluna offers.

Furthermore, when I have started higher-earning surveys, I have often discovered them to be on quite specialised topics and have been screened out or are much harder work than ordinary surveys.

I am still receiving what I named “Bait Surveys” which I explained in my original review but to quickly recapitulate – this is what happens.
I receive an email inviting me to take a very high value survey. I obviously accept the invitation and click through to begin the survey. I am immediately or after a couple of “screening” questions told that the survey has reached its quota and I am asked if I would like to take another Survey. Upon clicking “Yes”, I am redirected to another screen to take the follow-on survey which is of much lower value.

Rewards offered by Toluna, particularly for their main surveys, have been reducing progressively for almost two years and I get the impression that Toluna, as a fair and rewarding survey site, is on a downward spiral; because of this I am downgrading my “Survey Incentives” rating from 4 to 2 and “Overall Rating” from 5 stars to 3 stars.

I'm sorry Toluna, but what I said in January seems even more pertinent now, there are plenty of other survey sites out there offering much fairer rewards.

I hope this update review has helped you to decide whether or not to join Toluna.

Thanks…

Allan
Date: Oct 31, 2011

Overall Rating:
Survey Frequency:
Survey Incentives:
Panel Legitimacy:
Recommended:
Comments By: alex From: United Kingdom
Comment: if you wish to be given payment in return for surveys i would defiantly advise AGAINST joining toluna.

Cons

time estimates are wildly optimistic.
completed surveys frequently do not result in points being credited to you account.
once points target has been reached receiving the voucher codes is like getting blood from a stone (expect to be fobbed off with a standardised response).

pros

on the plus you'll get plenty of surveys
Date: Sep 22, 2011

Overall Rating:
Survey Frequency:
Survey Incentives:
Panel Legitimacy:
Recommended:
Comments By: Mandy Wickham From: United Kingdom
Comment: At first not many surveys came though but after a while after doing many small opinion polls and completed my interest surveys I started to get a lot more surveys. Some surveys tend to be a bit long but alot are very interesting. It is the only survey panel that I have got a reward back from even though the incentives points are high ie 80 000 for a 15 quid amazon voucher. I would how ever like to see toluna paying out to paypal.
Date: Sep 16, 2011

Overall Rating:
Survey Frequency:
Survey Incentives:
Panel Legitimacy:
Recommended:
Comments By: Aspen From: US
Comment: Their surveys are generally very long, usually much longer than they predict, for quite low rewards. You need 60,000 points to cash out for $20. I have cashed out once, and am halfway to cashing out again. However, I don't qualify for many surveys they send me. There are several other ways to receive points, but no matter what, it takes a while to get to 60,000. It seems most surveys offer between 1,200 and 3,000 points.
Date: Aug 01, 2011

Overall Rating:
Survey Frequency:
Survey Incentives:
Panel Legitimacy:
Recommended:
Comments By: Janet Daniels From: US
Comment: I just started Toluna exactly 1 month ago and have already taken a ton of surveys. I've cashed out once and am waiting for points to cash out again. I like that there are no games to play and that there is a blog with the other members. It's kind of like facebook without physically knowing the other people. You can be yourself and express you true opinions. It is truly alot of fun
Date: May 16, 2011

Overall Rating:
Survey Frequency:
Survey Incentives:
Panel Legitimacy:
Recommended:
Comments By: Patricia From: US
Comment: I have been a member of Toluna for only a short few months, and am on the verge of receiving my first payout. At first I thought that it would be hard to earn enough points to reach a payout in a reasonable time, but I guess this goes to prove me wrong. All the surveys I have taken part in have been paying well, plus I love taking part in the Sponsored Surveys to earn some quick extra points. I really like how you can earn points by creating your own opinion topics and polls too, as doing these regularly helps the points balance to add up even faster. Best of all, their refer-a-friend points bonus of 500 for each person is great; and thanks to 9 friends of mine I am now 4500 points closer to payout!

I know some members aren’t always happy with the points earned vs. time spent doing them or the qualification system, but I think so long as you keep your profile up to date and complete some personal interest surveys, you’ll be in with a good chance of being invited to more surveys and therefore earning your points faster. That being said, I guess I might just be one of the lucky ones who does qualify often. At least there’s always Sweepstakes entry as incentive, even if you don’t complete a survey.

Overall, I think Toluna is a pretty good survey company that aims to provide its members with fun and interesting surveys to take part in. I hope to be a long time member and continue to enjoy providing my opinions and taking part in their surveys.
Date: May 02, 2011

Overall Rating:
Survey Frequency:
Survey Incentives:
Panel Legitimacy:
Recommended:
Comments By: Allan From: United Kingdom
Comment: TOLUNA – www.toluna.co.uk

I joined Toluna in December 2008. Toluna have been a prolific provider of surveys in the 2+ years I have been a member. I use the word "member" because Toluna is not just a survey site but also a feature-rich, true community website combining surveys, product testing, member polls, sponsored polls, message boards and much more.

This review should focus on the survey aspects of Toluna; however, I would be undervaluing Toluna by omitting a brief mention of some of the sites other excellent facilities. Because of this, this review is necessarily longer than usual but by no means comprehensive.

Members are able to communicate with each other through a Username created upon registering. A member can also create a "Public Profile" which of course can be viewed by the Toluna community and used by them to find other members with interests, hobbies and backgrounds similar to their own.

Two useful facilities for members are "Opinion Topics" and "Opinion Polls" and members can create these at any time. One example use for these is if a member has a problem that he/she would like opinions for, the member can either:-

1) Create an "Opinion Poll" and allow other members the opportunity to offer their opinion through multiple-choice answers provided by the creator. This facility does appeal to many members since it requires minimal input through just a few mouse clicks,
OR
2) Create an "Opinion Topic" where a member can ask a question and allow other members to provide answers or opinions as free-format text comments. These are very popular facilities within Toluna; videos can also be included as part of the entry and many members make excellent use of them and are ready and willing to participate.

Now onto the survey side of Toluna.

Again Toluna is not just a simple survey site but offers several different facilities for members to earn Toluna reward points (more about these later).

1) Completing the 17 Toluna "Interest Surveys" will allow Toluna to filter surveys they send to your email Inbox so that the survey has a much better chance of being suitable for you and completing these will earn you 2000 Toluna points. 2) Email survey invitations are sent to you based on the criteria in your "Interest Surveys", these are usually quite accurate and I tend to receive more suitable surveys than unsuitable. The email contains a unique "Survey Id.", the estimated time taken to complete the survey and the number of reward points you will receive upon successful completion - Great! Everything you need to know to maintain records of the surveys you complete.
There is usually no reward if you are screened out.
The points you earn from invited surveys are usually credited to your account when the survey is "Closed", this can be a few days or it can be months, however, your survey history found under "You/Your points" on the website will list any as yet unpaid surveys as well as paid.
Some surveys may lead to an invitation to test a product, I have been lucky in 2 such surveys to test savoury snacks.
The value of surveys in terms of reward points varies considerably, more about this later.

3) "Sponsored Polls" are available on the Toluna website under the "Explore/Polls" selection. These are mini surveys comprising just a few questions and can give your points balance a big boost. Each "Sponsored Poll" can be worth between 15 and about 150 points and the points are guaranteed since they are credited to you account immediately.
After you have answered some qualifying questions, some "Sponsored Polls" will automatically redirect you to a normal style survey – perhaps even on a partner web site. From experience, this can be a waste of time and rather annoying since these surveys have a high level of screen-outs or the survey has reached its quota or simply expired. The User is then left to make their way back to the website to continue with the "Sponsored Polls".
These automatic redirections can be cancelled by quickly hitting the "F5" key when the redirection message appears. If you do decide and manage to complete one of these surveys, the reward points are usually credited to your account within a couple of days.

4) Product tests are also occasionally available under the "Test & Rewards/Test Area" selection. New products to test can be anything from snacks and toothbrushes to mobile 'phones and plasma televisions and usually appear each Monday. It's simple to register, but alas, I have had no success in this section although I have registered for all suitable products. Of course, once you have tested the product and provided the required feedback, you get to keep the product.

Now to the subject of the reward points.

These can be earned for all surveys; I have never been invited to complete a survey for which no reward was offered. Reward points can be exchanged for entries into a Prize Draw to win various cash prizes - 1 ticket costs 500 points. Points can be redeemed for shopping vouchers. My favourite is the "Love2Shop" voucher which is exchangeable at many high street stores, but unfortunately, NOT the big supermarkets. - Yet!
You need to collect 80,000 points to redeem for a £15 voucher - that's equivalent to 18.75p per 1000 points.
As I mentioned earlier the value of surveys varies tremendously, the absolute minimum I am prepared to accept to complete a survey is 1000 points per 5 minutes - but even this becomes unattractive the longer the survey is. This brings the earning capacity about par with many other survey sites. However, occasionally some very lucrative surveys are offered for example 10,000 points (£1.875) for a ten minute survey.

So far everything I have said about Toluna has been positive, but there are some negatives.

1) If you join Toluna, I highly recommend that you maintain a record of all surveys completed - as occasionally the completion of a survey does tend to go unrecorded by Toluna. I have mentioned how to keep records in another review on this site.

2) In November 2009 the value of Toluna Reward Points was effectively devalued - let me explain. For a Love2Shop voucher, the redemption threshold was increased from 60,000 to 80,000 points (an increase of 33%) whereas the redemption value was increased from £12 to only £15 (an increase of only 25%).
Expressed another way, before the change you would earn 20p per 1000 points, after the change you would earn only 18.75p per 1000 points.
Expressed yet another way, before the change, you had to earn 5000 points per £1, after the change you have to earn 5333 points per £1.
Some may comment it is a small, trivial change per £1, but multiply 333 points by 15 before you can redeem and it becomes quite a big change.
Trivial, maybe, but it seemed important to Toluna to make the change in the first place.

3) Since November 2009, I also noticed that the actual value of surveys (points per minute) also seemed to have been reduced, this stabilised during 2010 but now, once again, in the past month I have noticed a marked reduction in the average value of surveys.
To quote some examples, many surveys I have been invited to have offered considerably LESS than my minimum 1000 points (18.75p) per five minutes. One survey received recently offered only 4000 points (75p) for 50 minutes. Another offered 1700 points (<32p) for 45 minutes.
It’s not surprising that I often receive reminder invitation emails for these low value surveys, which indicates to me that other members feel that they are not good value either.
I'm sorry Toluna but there are other survey sites out there offering much fairer rewards.

4) Also recently, several times now, I have had the following situation arise which one may call the “bait survey” situation – this is what happens.
I receive an email inviting me to take a very high value survey. I obviously accept the invitation and click through to begin the survey. I am immediately or after a couple of “screening” questions told that the survey has reached its quota and I am asked if I would like to take another Survey. Upon clicking “Yes”, I am redirected to another screen to take the follow-on survey which is of much lower value. One may comment that, okay, the survey had indeed reached its quota, but on one occasion I responded to such an email invitation only FIVE minutes after receiving it only to be told it had reached its quota.
This could be coincidence or deliberate, but it appears to me that perhaps fake, high value “bait” surveys are being used to “persuade” members to complete the low value follow-on surveys.

Overall, Toluna offers its members a good deal of excellent facilities and some lucrative ways of making extra cash, if you choose your methods wisely. Choose unwisely and you may be spending a lot of your valuable time for little reward - time that could be better spent with other survey sites.
The community spirit is strong and looking at some of members comments on the site, you will see that we are not afraid to express our opinions.

I hope this review has helped you to decide whether or not to join Toluna.
Date: Jan 30, 2011

Overall Rating:
Survey Frequency:
Survey Incentives:
Panel Legitimacy:
Recommended:
Comments By: trd From: US
Comment: I joined Toluna on 12/15/10...since then I have been paid (once $20) and also have two (2) payments pending.... so easy to get $$ that I can get $60-$80 per month just by spending a few minutes each day on the site....! qualified for my first payment after only 5 days and got my check within 3 weeks...no B.S. best site I've joined....
Date: Jan 16, 2011

Overall Rating:
Survey Frequency:
Survey Incentives:
Panel Legitimacy:
Recommended:
Comments By: Abraham Benadict From: India
Comment: Toluna.com is the best site for any one interested in earing a few extra dollars by completing surveys. The website is also user friendly and the fact that use can also earn points by simply answering poll questions, to which there are hundreds to choose from. You usually earn 15 points per poll question however they can range as high as 75 points, which is a lot for simple one click of the mouse.

Users always have surveys available to complete which is nice as you get to pick and choose which ones you would like to complete.

To cash out you just need 60,000 points which equals $20. (paypal) It is so easy to accumulate this many points as there are quite a few surveys that offer reward points worth 10,000-15,000. the average is 5,000.

Toluna is probably one of the most effective survey site and transparent as more the efforts the more the rewards. Its an amazing platform to be and to rely for all the surveyers
Date: Dec 29, 2010

Overall Rating:
Survey Frequency:
Survey Incentives:
Panel Legitimacy:
Recommended:
Comments By: Jason From: Canada
Comment: I would definitely recommend Toluna.com for any one interested in earing a few extra dollars by completing surveys. This website is very unique in the fact that use can also earn points by simply answering poll questions, to which there are hundreds to choose from. You usually earn 15 points per poll question however they can range as high as 75 points, which is a lot for simple one click of the mouse.

They always have surveys available to complete which is nice as you get to pick and choose which ones you would like to complete.

To cash out you need 60,000 points which equals $20. (paypal) It is not difficult to accumulate this many points as there are quite a few surveys that offer reward points worth 10,000-15,000. I would say the average is 5,000.

Toluna is probably one of the most user friendly survey site and really caters to the wants and needs of the surveyees.
Date: Sep 28, 2010

Overall Rating:
Survey Frequency:
Survey Incentives:
Panel Legitimacy:
Recommended:
Comments By: Dominic From: US
Comment: I recommend this site. The incentives are great and the surveys do come but my only problem is I have a hard time logging in sometimes. Not much to say about this because I don't use them that much but I recommend it.
Date: Aug 10, 2010




Related Names, Words & Phrases: Toluna.com, www.toluna.com, toluna test and vote, toluna surveys, panel, scam, polls, UK

 
Home | About | Articles | Glossary | Site Map | Link to us | Affiliates | Contact